Are you travelling to Burma?

Burma, now known as Myanmar is a sovereign state in Southeast Asia. It is bordered by Thailand, China, Laos, Bangladesh and India. Part of Burma’s coastline is the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal. Half of this country is covered by dense tropical forest.

Capital City: Naypyidaw

Languages: Burmese

Population: 51.5 million

Currency: Kyat

Entry Requirements:

  • Tourist or Business visa is required. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Burma here.