Are you travelling to the Canary Islands?

The Canary Islands are a Spanish territory located just off the coast of northwestern Africa. The country consists of seven large and several smaller islands, all of which are volcanic in origin and cover an area of 7,435 square km. The Canary Islands have a subtropical climate with long warm summers and moderately warm winters.

Capital City: Santa Cruz de Tenerife and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Languages: Spanish

Population: 2.1 Million

Currency: Euro

Entry Requirements:

  • Student permit is required. Tourist visa is not required for stays up to 90 days. Canadians must have a passport.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Canary Islands here.