Are you travelling to Ethiopia?

Ethiopia is a developing country in East Africa. It is situated between Eritrea to the North, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, Djibouti and Somalia to the East and Somalia and Kenya to the south. It contains the source of the Blue Nile and is considered the site of the emergence of the first Homo Sapiens. The rainy season is July and August.

Capital City: Addis Ababa

Languages: Amharic

Population: 99 million

Currency: Birr

Entry Requirements:

  • Tourist, Business, or Transit visa is required. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Ethiopia here.