Are you travelling to Eritrea?

Eritrea is a country in Eastern Africa bordering the Red Sea. It is situated between Sudan in the North and Ethiopia and Djibouti in the south. Eritrea encompasses as well 350 islands in the Red Sea. It is the first country to have its entire coastlines of the mainland and all its islands (3293km) as an environmentally protected zone.

Capital City: Asmara

Languages: Tigrinya, Arabic, English

Population: 6.7 million

Currency: Nakfa

Entry Requirements:

  • Tourist, Business, or Transit visa is required. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Eritrea here.