Are you travelling to Ecuador?

The Republic of Ecuador is located on the equator on the west coast of South America. Ecuador includes the Galapagos Islands which are 1000 km west of the Coast of South America in the Pacific Ocean. Ecuador shares a border on the North with Colombia and on the South and East with Peru. Quito (2850 meters) is the highest capital in the world and sits almost at the equator. Ecuador is Spanish for equator.

Capital City: Quito

Languages: Spanish (official), Kichwa and Shuar

Population: 15.7 million

Currency: U.S. Dollar

Entry Requirements:

  • Tourist, Business or Student visa is required for stays 90 days or longer. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Ecuador here.