Are you travelling to Burundi?

The Republic of Burundi in a country in East Africa but is sometimes considered part of Central Africa. Neighbouring countries are Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania and Rwanda. The climate of this country is equatorial.

Capital City: Bujumbura

Languages: French and Kirundi

Population: 10.5 million

Currency: Burundian Franc

Entry Requirements:

  • Visa is required. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Burundi here.