Are you travelling to Botswana?

The Republic of Botswana, is located in Southern Africa. Botswana is flat, with up to 70 percent of its territory being the Kalahari Desert. This country is bordered by South Africa to the south and southeast, Namibia to the west and north, and Zimbabwe to the northeast. In addition to the delta and desert areas, there are grasslands and savannas. The rainy season is from November to March.

Capital City: Gaborone

Languages: English and Setswana

Population: 2.2 million

Currency: Pula

Entry Requirements:

  • Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Botswana here.