Are you travelling to Bulgaria?

Bulgaria is a country in southeastern Europe. It is surrounded by the Black Sea and 5 countries: Serbia, Macedonia, Greece, Turkey and Romania. Bulgaria is a transport crossroad with access to Europe, the Middle East and the Mediterranean. The terrain is mostly mountains with lowlands in the north and southeast.

Capital City: Sofia

Languages:  Bulgarian

Population: 7.4 million

Currency: Bulgarian Lev

Entry Requirements:

  • Visa is required for stays longer than 90 days. Canadians must have a passport.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to Bulgaria here.