Are you travelling to the Congo?

Democratic Republic of the Congo is a developing country. It is located in central Africa and lies on the equator. It was formerly known as Zaire. It is the second largest country in Africa. South of the Equator, the rainy season lasts from October to May and north of the Equator, from April to November. Along the equator, rainfall is consistent throughout the year.

Capital City: Kinshasa

Languages: French (official), Lingala, Kituba, Swahili and Tshiluba

Population: 78 million

Currency: Congolese Franc

Entry Requirements:

  • Tourist, Business, Student or Transit visa is required. Canadians must have a passport.
  • Yellow Fever vaccination certificate is required for travellers coming from countries with YF transmission.

Diseases to consider:

Travel Alerts

Check Government of Canada advisories specific to the Democratic Republic of the Congo here.